TEDxKTH Power of Perspectives

TEDxKTH is over for this time and we would like to thank all of you who attended. We sincerely hope you had a great time and left with a couple of new perspectives to think about. Videos from the event will be uploaded shortly. Big thanks also to our sponsors!

Claes Hultling

Claes Hultling is a medical doctor specialized in neurology and rehabilitation medicine. He is also an associate professor at the Karolinska Institute and visiting professor at the Stanford University in California. He has lived 29 years with a complete spinal cord injury that left him paralyzed from his shoulders down.

Claes works with spinal cord injured men and women and one of his prime goals is to get them back into life. He recently started a spinal cord injury unit in Gabarone in Botswana and one in Windhoek in Namibia in order to help people with special needs and help them back into the society.

He will present a story of how he was able to get back to his life after his spinal cord injury.

Armin Tavakoli

Armin TavakoliArmin Tavakoli is a second year student of physics. He has conducted research in both experimental and theoretical physics at Stockholm University and Institute of Photonic Science in Barcelona, mostly on quantum game theory and quantum foundations.
Armin’s research has been awarded with e.g. first place in Swedish national youth science fair, second place at the International Science and Engineering fair in the field of physics and astronomy and also a medal from Yale University.

Kathryn M. Kaminski

Kathryn M. KaminskiKathryn M. Kaminski, PhD, is currently visiting lecturer focusing in finance and financial mathematics as part of the industrial economics and management department at KTH. She is also an affiliated faculty at the Stockholm School of Economics (SSE) and a senior lecturer at MIT Sloan. Kathryn has lectured and currently lectures in the areas of derivatives, hedge funds, behavioral finance, and financial management. In 2011/2012, she was voted Teacher of the Year at SSE as well as being a 100 Women in Hedge Funds and PAAMCO CAIA Scholar. She is a holder of the CAIA designation.

Aman Russom

Aman RussomAman Russom is Associate Professor at the division of Proteomics and Nanobiotechnology at KTH Royal Institute of Technology, where he leads the Clinical Microfluidics Lab (CμF Lab). His research is on nanotechnology and microfluidics for biological applications with emphasis on point of care diagnostics.

He will be presenting the first “Lab-on-DVD system specifically designed to meet the needs in resource limited settings, first demonstrated through CD4 count for HIV diagnostics.

Terrence Brown

Terrence BrownDr. Terrence E. Brown is Associate Professor of Entrepreneurship and Innovation with a PhD in Entrepreneurship and Corporate Strategy and an MBA in Organizational Management and International Business from Rutgers University.
His research area is – Value creation through the formation, management, rapid growth and rejuvenation of business enterprises.
Dr. Brown is also the founder of Cogeneration.se, an offline/online institution providing content and education to entrepreneurs and venture investors.

Our proud sponsors:

The TEDxKTH Crew:

Elin Lindblad elin.lindblad@tedxkth.com
Erik Wang erik.wang@tedxkth.com
Fredrik Hallberg fredrik.hallberg@tedxkth.com
Anda Zhang anda.zhang@tedxkth.com
Markus Forsberg markus.forsberg@tedxkth.com
Paulina Wisniewska paulina.wisniewska@tedxkth.com
Magnus Borg magnus.borg@tedxkth.com

KTH in Stockholm is the largest, oldest and most international technical university in Sweden. One-third of Sweden’s technical research and engineering education capacity at university level is provided by KTH. Education and research spans from natural sciences to all the branches of engineering and includes architecture, industrial management and urban planning. The educational programmes lead to Bachelor, Master or PhD degrees in engineering, science, or architecture. There are a total of just over 15,000 undergraduate students and more than 1,600 active postgraduate students. KTH has almost 4,300 employees